Awards Overview

There are two awards committees of the CSGS:

The Awards Committee handles 3 awards that deal with faculty:

Outstanding Mentor Award

This award acknowledges and honors a person whose has enjoyed outstanding success in mentoring graduate students in the Southern Region.Details >

Outstanding Contributions Award

This peer-nominated award is presented to acknowledge and honor a person whose contributions have significantly benefited graduate education in the Southern Region. Details >


The Conference of Southern Graduate Schools (CSGS) and Educational Testing Service (ETS) are pleased to announce the CSGS/ETS Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Admissions. Presented by the GRE and TOEFL programs, the award will be distributed to a CSGS member schools in recognition of outstanding contributions in graduate admissions practices. Details >

The ETD Thesis Committee handles 2 awards that deal with students:

Master's Thesis Awards

The Master's Thesis Awards are awarded based on the basis of clarity of style and presentation, scholarship, research methodology, and contributions to the field or discipline. Details >

ETD Master's Thesis Awards

The ETD Master's Thesis Award winners are selected based on the basis of clarity of style and presentation, scholarship, research methodology, contributions to the field or discipline, and the innovative use of technology in the presentation of the content of the thesis. Details >

The history of past award winners can be found here.

2014 CSGS Awards

Master's Thesis Award Recipients

Social Sciences, Business, and Education

David Frank 

Metacognitive Age Differences in Strategy Shift; Retrieval Avoidance or General Shift Reluctance?

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Advisor: Dr. Dayna Touron

Life Sciences

Manashree Prajapati

The Effects of Cholesterol Carrier Proteins and Statin on Fibroblast Migration and Signal Transduction via Sterol Regulatory Element Binding Proteins (SREBP) -2

Tarleton State University

Advisor: Dr. Dale Telgenhoff

Digital Scholarship

Anita Lam

Typeline, a bilingual topographic reference guide for Chinese students

Texas State University, San Marcos

Advisor: Dr. Maia Wright

Award for Outstanding Mentor for Graduate Education in the Southern Region

Dr. Aruni Bhatnagar

Division of Cardiology

University of Louisville

ETS/CSGS Award for Innovation in Promoting Success in Graduate Education: From Admission through Completion

School of Interdisciplinary and Graduate Studies

University of Louisville

Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate Education In the Southern Region

Dr. Jennifer Martin

Senior Associate Provost

Texas Woman's University