Social Sciences, Business, and Education (1 award)


Life Sciences (1 award)



Graduate Deans or their designee(s) at CSGS member institutions may nominate one person per category (total of two per institution) whose thesis has been accepted in partial fulfillment of master's degree requirements during the past two academic years and/or summer sessions (Fall 2013 through Summer 2015)


$1,000 plus travel expenses for the awardees to attend the 2016 CSGS meeting in Charlotte, NC where the award will be presented.


The Graduate Dean or designee shall provide the following materials as part of the nomination dossier to be received no later than November 16, 2015:


An electronic file (e-mail or CD) or web link of the nomination materials should be submitted to the Committee Chair no later than November 16, 2015:
Sonja Montas-Hunter, Associate Dean
University Graduate School
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th Street PC 230
Miami, FL 33199
Phone:  305-348-4237


Evaluation Process

Each thesis will be reviewed by faculty members in the field from CSGS member
institutions and will be evaluated on the basis of clarity of style and presentation,
scholarship, research methodology, and contributions to the field or discipline.

Members of the Thesis Awards Committee
Sonja Montas-Hunter, Chair
John Z. Kiss
Tom Reynolds
Carolyn R. Hodges
Peter Harries
George Crandell
Laura Chesak
Christy Wyandt

Previous Award Winners

Ted Wesermann (1990)

Lara B. Crowley (2005)

Steven B. Broyles (1990)

William R. Cooper (2006)

Marshall Rand (1992)

Jennifer J. McMahon (2006)

Jeanne A. Peter (1993)

Destiny Birdsong (2007)

Cynthia Enid Romero-Arroyo (1994)

Mark Losego (2007)

Todd G. Wetzel (1995)

Mason R. McWatters (2008

Brenda G. Wristen (1996)

Elizabeth Rahn (2008)

James E. Reaux (1997)

James Savage (2009)

Anna L. Meaux (1998)

George Kablick (2009)

Andrew Glenn Edward Haskell (1999)

Steven McMurray (2010)

Lester Baker Perry (2000)

Jessica Kaczorowski (2010)

Michael Gregory Janech (2000)

Natalie Herring (2011)

Terry O’Brien Pettinger (2001)

Jessica Gillespie  (2011)

Gery Daniel Dorazio (2001)

Justine Schembri (2012)

Amy Hudnall (2002)

Jason Kopp (2012)

Rebecca Elaine Blanton (2002)

Natallie Nations (2013)

Hamsell M. Alvarez (2003)

Sarah Suda (2013)

Linda Miller Cantara (2003)

Manashree Prajapati (2014)

James B. Davis (2004)

David Frank (2014)

Russell Davis Day (2004)

Brandee Easter (2015)

Jonathan W. Roller (2005)

Mohammad Saied Dehghani Sanij (2015)